Nostalgic in Ballyhoura
Ballyhoura is filled with amazing heritage and history, with something new to discover everyday about this stunning area!
There are endless experiences on offer for all the history lovers out there, as we are home to some of Ireland’s most historic monuments, such as Grange Stone Circle, which is the largest and oldest in Ireland.
Whether you want a guided tour to learn about the areas wonderful heritage, or simply want a day out to walk around some of Ballyhoura's most historic spots, there is something new to discover!
Lough Gur is a lake in County Limerick, located between the towns of Herbertstown and Bruff. This lake district is at the heart of a remarkable archaeological landscape, featuring sites from all of the major periods of human history in Ireland.
Embark on a journey back in time and discover the wonderful history, folklore and archaeology of the surrounding area. Lough Gur is known for its beauty and tranquility, with its picturesque views and walks around the lakeshore.
There is physical evidence of occupation from the Neolithic, Bronze Age, Iron Age, Early Christian, Medieval, Early Modern and Modern eras that has been found in the vicinity. It is also home to Grange Stone Circle, which is Ireland's largest and oldest stone circle.
Guided and self guided tours of the area are available through Lough Gur Visitor Centre. The Visitors Centre features an exciting exhibition along with interactive touchscreens and an audio guide that will transport you back through the ages.
Visit the website to learn more and keep up to date with upcoming tours and opening times.
New Church, also known as Teampall Nua, is from the Post Medieval Period. New Church replaced an older chapel, which was previously used by the Earls of Desmond. The present structure dates from 1679 and is a simple rectangular building.
It was endowed with a chalice and patten which bear the inscription: “The guift of the Right Honourable Rachel Countess Dowager of Bath to her chapel-of-ease Logh Guir, Ireland 1679”.
New Church is home to the unmarked graves of famed poet harper, Thomas O Connellan, who died in 1698 and local poet and historian Owen Bresnan, who composed Teampall Nua and Sweet Lough Gur side. A visit to this site is perfect for any history lovers out there!
Cahirguillamore, Bruff, Co. Limerick
Take a trip back in time and visit the Old Irish Ways Museum. This museum, which was featured on Nationwide, offers a fantastic insight into how past generations lived in Ireland. With an impressive collection of antique, historical and novel items dating from the last 200 years, you are guaranteed to learn something new about past life in Ireland.
This museum offers a relaxed tour that lets visitors gain valuable experience and knowledge of country life in the past. It highlights the importance of agriculture, crafts and trades and shows the development of tools and equipment over the centuries.
Display areas at the museum include a Pharmacy, Creamery, Post Office, a bar, a classroom and much more. For any motoring enthusiasts out there, the museum has an extensive collection of vintage tractors, as well as a large selection of old oil cans and memorabilia.
This award-winning museum encapsulates what life in Ireland was like in the past and is bound to leave visitors amazed!
Demesne, Doneraile, County Cork
Doneraile Court is the stunning centrepiece of one of Ireland’s most beautiful estates. Located on the banks of the Awbeg river in north Co. Cork, the house dates from the 1720s, when it was built by Arthur St. Leger, the first Viscount Doneraile and father of the renowned Lady Freemason.
In the 19th century, the house was modified extensively by later generations of St. Legers, creating the imposing and characterful building that can be enjoyed today. The kitchen wing from this period now serves as the home of the Doneraile Court tearooms and is a perfect way to start or finish your visit.
This gorgeous estate is filled with historical trees that tower over the paths surrounding the peaceful park. The park's tranquility makes it home to herds of wild deer that can be seen roaming around the fields.
With both indoor and outdoor heritage on offer, Doneraile Estate offers experienced guides, to learn more about the fascinating history of the house and estate.
Did you know that long before Glenosheen was put on the map it had secured a place in Irish folklore.
The popular mythological Irish legend Tír na nÓg (Land of Eternal Youth) is, in fact, where Glenosheen gets its name. According to legend, the Fianna hero, Oisín, was out hunting when he met the beautiful Niamh of the Golden Hair, who was riding a white horse. She told him she loved him and invited him to join her in Tír na nÓg. Travelling west with her, he arrived in Tír na nÓg where they both began 300 years of lovemaking, with Oisín never experiencing sickness, age or frailty. However, not a day passed when he did not think of returning to Ireland and his family and home.
Eventually, Niamh reluctantly allowed Oisín to return but she warned him not to dismount from his horse or he would become old, withered and blind. Upon returning to Ireland, to his great sadness, the good old days of 300 years earlier had gone and all his friends were long dead. At Glenosheen (The Glen of Oisín), he leaned from his horse to help men lift a stone into a wagon. As he did so, his reins broke and he fell to the ground. Oisín immediately transformed into an old man. As luck might have it, Saint Patrick happened to arrive on the scene and had barely enough time to baptise Oisín a Christian before he died.