+353 (0) 63 91300 reception@ballyhoura.org

Bruff is situated on the R516. The Morning Star River flows through the town. Bruff is a parish in the barony of Coshma. There are three churches in the parish, situated at Bruff, Grange and Meanus respectively.

The old name for Bruff was Brugh na nDaise meaning the Palace or the Residence of the Daise­. Another derivation for Bruff is An Brú meaning ‘the Abode’. The Daise­ were a sept or people who were settled in East Limerick in very remote times. The territory was known as an Daise Bheag (the small Decies) to distinguish it from the larger Decies territory in South Tipperary and Waterford.

Grange or Manister Grange was a parish or district in the barony of Small County. The Irish for Grange is An Gráinseach. There are three stone circles in Grange.

Meanus Graveyard has 116 memorials, all of which have been digitally surveyed and are viewable if you follow this link:  Meanus Historic Graves, click here