CASTLETOWN-CONYERS, a parish in the barony of UPPER CONNELLO EAST, county of LIMERICK, and province of MUNSTER, 3 miles (S.) from Ballingarry: the population is returned with the union or parish of Corcomohide.
This place anciently called Kilmoodan, took the name of Castletown-Mac-Eineiry from a castle erected here in 1349, by a chieftain of that name, who possessed a large extent of territory in this part of the country, which was forfeited by the adherence of his descendant to the cause of Jas. II., and granted by Wm. III, to Captain George Conyers from whom it derives its present appellation. Archdall notes an abbey of great splendour and extent, founded here by the Mac Eineiry family, but nothing urther is recorded of its history, nor are there any remains of it.
The seat of the Conyers family, occupied by C. Conyers in the early 19th century. By the time of Griffith’s Valuation the house appears to be in use as an auxiliary workhouse, held by the Croom Guardians from William Bailey, medical doctor, and valued at £25. In 1894 it was the residence of Charles Conyers.
The parish is situated on the road from Rathkeale to Charleville (Co. Cork), and comprises 10,086 statute acres as applotted under the tithe act: about one-eighth of the land is under tillage, producing good crops; the remainder of it is in demesnes and in meadow and pasture land belonging to large dairy farms; there is a large tract of turbary, which is very valuable as fuel. The whole of the substratum is limestone, of which several very fine quarries are extensively worked.
Castletown today is a vibrant community who in recent years became very well known due to the YouTube hit of the annual Donkey Derby! Each year Castletown hosts the Pattern Festival which has a host of activities for all the family.
Castletown graveyard has yet to be digitally surveyed on Historicgraves.com