The town was formerly a walled town, containing four castles and an extensive and celebrated college, every vestige of which has long since disappeared, and its site is only known from a field still retaining the name of the College Field. The town was formerly incorporated, as appears by a grant made in 1358. On 7 August 1690, William III encamped here on his march to the siege of Limerick, as did also General de Ginkell in the following year. The town contains about 120 houses, of which several are large and well built.
Samuel Lewis, 1837.
Caherconlish has a rich variety of historic and archaeological monuments. Many Neolithic and Bronze Age arrowheads and axeheads have been found in the locality. A Neolithic urn containing cremated human remains found at Newtown in the 1940’s is now in Limericks Hunt Museum. The town is 6.4 kilometres from Lough Gur, which is one of the five most important Bronze Age and Neolithic sites in Europe. There is a direct connection between Lough Gur and Caherconlish in the Liagan Line, the last stone of which is the Legaun Stone at High Park.
Today the town is a vibrant centre located within a short distance to Limerick City.
The Millennium Centre (Community Centre) is an active hub for the whole community hosting sports activities, social dancing, cards and a farmers market. Millennium Center Website Click Here!!
Caherconlish graveyard has many memorials, all of which have been digitally surveyed and are viewable if you follow this link: Caherconlish Historic Graves click here | Caherconlish (Inch St Lawrence) Historic Graves, click here